In New Jersey it is illegal for those under the age of 21 to have any alcohol in their system while driving. If you are under 21 years old, have no prior DUI-related offenses and your blood alcohol content (BAC) was below 0.08%, then your license will be suspended for anywhere between 30-90 days. You may also be required to perform community service for 15-30 days and attend an intoxicated driver resource center program.
If you are under 21 years of age with no prior DUI-related offenses and your BAC is above a 0.08, then you will face penalties as harsh as someone who is over 21 years of age with no prior DUI-related offenses.
Simply having a New Jersey license automatically provides that you have given consent to have your BAC measured if lawfully stopped by a law enforcement officer while driving. Refusing to submit a BAC, even while under the age of 21, automatically results in you being treated as though you have a BAC of 0.10% and may result in losing your driving privilege for 7 months to 1 year.
Typically, our law firm encounters underage DWI offenses with high school or college students who are experimenting with alcohol for the first time. Peer pressure and the novelty of drinking alcohol can cause someone to underestimate how the alcohol is affecting them while driving. Factors such as this may be raised in your defense through the proper assistance of a DUI lawyer. At Villani & DeLuca, our DUI defense lawyers carefully analyze all factors before representing you in court.
If you are facing an underage DWI or underage drinking charge, call Villani & DeLuca for a free initial consultation at (732) 800-2980.