Have You Been Arrested For Driving With An Open Container
Attending a party or work function as an adult will likely involve alcohol, but in New Jersey consuming alcohol in public is against the law. Many times the offender may be too impaired to realize that they have entered a public place, forgetting that this behavior has consequences. Other times a motor vehicle violation traffic stop may reveal a violation of open container laws. At Villani & DeLuca, P.C. our attorneys provide assistance to those facing open container charges in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-51b across Monmouth and Ocean County. With easy access to the beach and popular nightlife, open container charges in Point Pleasant Beach, Seaside Heights, and Belmar are not uncommon. In New Jersey these charges can be expensive, and legal representation is always recommended in order to protect against the consequences that come with an open container offense.
Possession of Open Container of Alcohol in Passenger Compartment (N.J.S.A. 39:4-51b)
A person driving with a bottle of alcohol that has been opened but resealed in the passenger seat can be charged with open container. Once a person is charged with an open container, subsection (c) of the statue lays out the penalties. For a first time offense the person will be fined $200. Once a person is charged for a second or third offense then the Court can impose a $250 fine and also 10 days of community service.
Criminal Defense Attorney
Instead of facing expensive fines and opening yourself up to penalties, speak to the attorneys of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. about your charges. Our criminal defense team has helped clients defend themselves against motor vehicle violations in both Monmouth and Ocean County.
If you or someone you know has been charged with an open container, call us at 732-965-3550 for a FREE consultation today.